James Cowen and Miranda Jones Elected to the Management Committee

Firm News

Porter Hedges is pleased to announce that James Cowen and Miranda Jones have been elected to the Firm’s Management Committee, effective February 1, 2021.

James represents public and private companies, boards of directors and special committees, and individuals in a variety of corporate, securities and finance matters, particularly in the energy industry. His practice includes public and private offerings of equity and debt securities, mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures, strategic partnerships, project development and finance, SEC compliance, corporate governance, executive employment agreements and compensation, and general corporate and commercial matters.  

Prior to and while attending law school, James worked as an aerospace engineer and software developer for a NASA subcontractor, Unisys, where his responsibilities included developing and maintaining software for the space shuttle program, and then as a software development consultant for an oilfield services company.

Miranda is an intellectual property litigator specializing in patent litigation. Recognized as the Texas Lawyer’s ‘Top Woman in IP’ in 2018, she has been helping clients navigate complex patent trial and appeal proceedings for over a decade. She has handled matters in a wide range of technologies, including the pharmaceutical, chemical, electrical, and mechanical fields.

Miranda has represented clients in patent cases in federal courts across the country including Texas, Pennsylvania, California, Washington D.C., and Virginia. In addition to her trial practice, she has handled appeals before the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and before the United States Supreme Court. She served as a law clerk to Judge Pauline Newman of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

James and Miranda replace Craig Bergez and Eric English, whose terms expire on January 31, 2021. The Firm thanks them for their leadership and contributions over the course of their service on the committee.